Stabilization of the n = 3 Ruddlesden-Popper phases: Sr4Mn3-xFexO10-δ and Sr4-yCayMn3O10-δ

R. Chen, M. Greenblatt, L. A. Bendersky

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

9 Scopus citations


Sr4Mn3O10, which crystallizes in space group Cmca, is not a Ruddlesden-Popper (RP) phase. The partial substitution of either Mn by Fe or Sr by Ca leads to a stable n = 3 RP phase with tetragonal symmetry (I4/mmm). The minimum amount of Fe or Ca needed to obtain a stable RP phase is x = 0.40 for Sr4Mn3-xFexO10-δ and y = 2.85 for Sr4-yCayMn3O10-δ. High-resolution transmission electron microscopy and selected area electron diffraction electron microscopy indicate that about 50% of the grains have well-ordered n = 3 structure for both series of RP phases, while the rest of the grains show significant intergrowth between the n = 2 and n = 3 structures. Sr4Mn2.6Fe0.4O10-δ and Sr1.15Ca2.85Mn3O10-δ are semiconductors and exhibit spin-glass like transitions at low temperature.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)4094-4100
Number of pages7
JournalChemistry of Materials
Issue number11
StatePublished - Dec 10 2001

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Chemistry(all)
  • Chemical Engineering(all)
  • Materials Chemistry

Fingerprint Dive into the research topics of 'Stabilization of the n = 3 Ruddlesden-Popper phases: Sr<sub>4</sub>Mn<sub>3-x</sub>Fe<sub>x</sub>O<sub>10-δ</sub> and Sr<sub>4-y</sub>Ca<sub>y</sub>Mn<sub>3</sub>O<sub>10-δ</sub>'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this